Reviews (Page 35)

Spectra Review

Spectra Review (Xbox One)

Relive the '80s with chiptunes, neon, and challenging arcade gameplay

July 15, 2015 - It's difficult to tell what kind of game Spectra is just by looking at it. "Is it a rhythm game?" Good guess, but no. "How about a racer?" Not really. I think it's best to not put it in a single category. If we have to then let's just call it something generic like a modern yet retro-feeling arcade experience. I have a pocket full of quarters so let's pop a few in and see what Spectra is all about.
Read more: Spectra Review

Nekoburo: Cats Block Review

Nekoburo: Cats Block Review (PlayStation Vita)

You invite one cat into your home and before you know it...

July 13, 2015 - Puzzle games have come a long way since Columns, yet here's Nekoburo to offer a refreshing take on a classic. Full of kitties, humour, and new gameplay twists, this Vita puzzler is definitely intriguing. Should you let this stray into your home? Grab your catnip and let's see.
Read more: Nekoburo: Cats Block Review

Don't Crash Review

Don't Crash Review (Wii U)

A game so tedious that you would actually want it to crash

July 11, 2015 - The Wii U eShop has more than its fair share of subpar games. It saddens me to say that Don't Crash is yet another title that gives Nintendo's downloadable library a bad name. If you're still interested then let's take this lemon on a test drive.
Read more: Don't Crash Review

Rocket League Review

Rocket League Review (PlayStation 4)

Soccer + cars = success!

July 9, 2015 - The creators of PlayStation 3's underrated vehicular sports title Supersonic Acrobatic Rocket-Powered Battle-Cars have finally made a sequel. I must say that I was a huge fan of the original, so let's see if this long-awaited second installment lives up to it!
Read more: Rocket League Review

Quadcopter Pilot Challenge Review

Quadcopter Pilot Challenge Review (Wii U)

They see me dronin'

July 6, 2015 - When you look at a game about flying a drone, you probably don't expect much. After all, how much fun could sitting on your couch while controlling a virtual toy actually be? The answer may surprise you, so it's time to give this thing a thorough test drive.
Read more: Quadcopter Pilot Challenge Review

Quiplash Review

Quiplash Review (PlayStation 4)

You can now officially prove that you're the funniest of all your friends

July 3, 2015 - It's easy to get excited when you see a new game from the makers of You Don't Know Jack, Fibbage, and Drawful. However, they also made Word Spud, so it makes you wonder where Quiplash lies on the spectrum. Does it have what it takes to get the party started or are you better off sticking to the classics? Invite some chums over and let's give it a try.
Read more: Quiplash Review

Red Goddess: Inner World Review

Red Goddess: Inner World Review (PlayStation 4)

Schizophrenia is Divine

July 2, 2015 - When it comes to indie game development, mixing genres is a method that always produces interesting results. Red Goddess combines melee combat, exploration, platforming, and some light puzzle-solving in a fascinating world that's fused together with beautiful storytelling. There's no denying how intriguing that sounds, but does it all add up to a worthwhile game?
Read more: Red Goddess: Inner World Review

Shantae: Risky's Revenge - Director's Cut Review

Shantae: Risky's Revenge - Director's Cut Review (PlayStation 4)

This half-genie has a killer head of hair

June 29, 2015 - You don't often see DSiWare games getting ported to current consoles. For the most part it's understandable why, but when it comes to Shantae; you know you're in for a treat. If you're ready, give that magic lamp a rub and let's see if our wishes come true.
Read more: Shantae: Risky's Revenge - Director's Cut Review

Astebreed Review

Astebreed Review (PlayStation 4)

Who said shoot 'em ups can't be cinematic?

June 27, 2015 - When it comes to old-school gaming, no genre has stayed as true as the arcade shooter. In a modern rendition of the classic formula, Astebreed takes familiar gameplay to a new level by setting it in an evocative anime world and the result may surprise you.
Read more: Astebreed Review

Arcade Archives: Raiders5 Review

Arcade Archives: Raiders5 Review (PlayStation 4)

A.J. and the raiders of the lost arcade

June 24, 2015 - Looks like I'm back at the arcade with one of the most obscure games you've never heard of. Where's Raiders 1 through 4, you ask? I have no clue, but here's Raiders5; an odd overhead shooter with unique gameplay. Enough with the jibber-jabber, let's raid this sucker!
Read more: Arcade Archives: Raiders5 Review

© Video Chums 2014-2017. All rights reserved. Latest article published . Privacy Policy - Video Index