PlayStation Reviews

Star Sweep Review

Star Sweep Review

Stars get dusty, too

September 25, 2015 - It seems like classic puzzlers are being ported faster than you can slam a tetromino down. Here, we have a wonderful long-lost gem that features a colourful cast of characters, so grab a broom and let's start sweeping!
Read more: Star Sweep Review

Crossroad Crisis Review

Crossroad Crisis Review

The game that gets you chicks

September 18, 2015 - Some games get ported to modern consoles for no comprehensible reason. What the heck is Crossroad Crisis and what's it doing on my PlayStation 3? Well, it's actually a surprisingly fun little puzzler that's worth checking out.
Read more: Crossroad Crisis Review

Namco Museum Vol. 5 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 5 Review

Pac is back and he's brought some shiny new friends

June 11, 2015 - It's finally time to discuss the last volume of the original Namco Museum anthology. Of course, there are plenty more Namco Museum collections that have come out since and maybe I'll review a few of those down the road. For now, this will have to suffice. Anyway, does the series end on a positive note? Let's put on our winged helmets and take a walk down memory lane to find the answer.
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 5 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 4 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 4 Review

An odd journey into the unknown

June 8, 2015 - Previous collections featured a large variety of classic Namco titles. I guess that means it's time to take a trip to the back corner of Namco's vast library. These games may be obscure, but are they any good? Since I still have some quarters left, let's find out!
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 4 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Digging up some arcade treasures

June 5, 2015 - These Namco compilations keep getting better. However, does the third installment maintain this trend? Seeing as it fills in some missing gaps from Namco's library, let's have a look at what's in this chest full of retro goodness.
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

A game of cats and mice... and dragons

June 3, 2015 - After a decent debut, the second Namco Museum manages to top its predecessor. Featuring a slightly newer and more unorthodox library, Namco Museum Vol. 2 definitely delivers the goods. What I want to know is; do you have enough quarters left?
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Eat, shoot, race, repeat

June 1, 2015 - Namco is the king of the arcade. To celebrate their retro catalog, I thought it would be a good idea to spend the next couple weeks reviewing their five Namco Museum compilations for the original PlayStation. Before we begin, I want to mention that I'll be discussing the included games exclusively and not the extra content. If you're ready, grab a roll of quarters and pop one in!
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Mega Man 8 Review

Mega Man 8 Review

An intriguing turn for our favourite blue robotic hero

May 25, 2015 - When it comes to pleasing nostalgic fans, the Mega Man series has definitely strayed a few times. Although Mega Man 8 is one of these installments, it's certainly by no means a bad game. So, let's charge our Mega Busters and rock on with the review.
Read more: Mega Man 8 Review

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

This castle is a creature of Chaos

April 8, 2015 - With countless Metroidvania games being released, it's a good time to revisit the origins of the genre. Symphony of the Night boldly took the Castlevania series in a new direction by incorporating exploration as the main gameplay mechanic in a similar fashion to the already established Metroid series. The result was one of the greatest video games ever crafted. As the 100th review on Video Chums, I invite you to join me in celebrating this brilliant example of gaming perfection in a modern review of a timeless classic.
Read more: Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

Aces of the Air Review

Aces of the Air Review

Taking the concept of bombing to a whole new level

March 4, 2015 - Very few retro flight combat sims are worth revisiting in this day and age. Does Aces of the Air deserve to be a member of this select few? Let's don our flight suits and take this simulator to the skies to see if it can withstand the heat of battle.
Read more: Aces of the Air Review

© Video Chums 2014-2017. All rights reserved. Latest article published . Privacy Policy - Video Index