PlayStation 3 Reviews (Page 5)

Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Digging up some arcade treasures

June 5, 2015 - These Namco compilations keep getting better. However, does the third installment maintain this trend? Seeing as it fills in some missing gaps from Namco's library, let's have a look at what's in this chest full of retro goodness.
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

A game of cats and mice... and dragons

June 3, 2015 - After a decent debut, the second Namco Museum manages to top its predecessor. Featuring a slightly newer and more unorthodox library, Namco Museum Vol. 2 definitely delivers the goods. What I want to know is; do you have enough quarters left?
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Eat, shoot, race, repeat

June 1, 2015 - Namco is the king of the arcade. To celebrate their retro catalog, I thought it would be a good idea to spend the next couple weeks reviewing their five Namco Museum compilations for the original PlayStation. Before we begin, I want to mention that I'll be discussing the included games exclusively and not the extra content. If you're ready, grab a roll of quarters and pop one in!
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Mega Man 8 Review

Mega Man 8 Review

An intriguing turn for our favourite blue robotic hero

May 25, 2015 - When it comes to pleasing nostalgic fans, the Mega Man series has definitely strayed a few times. Although Mega Man 8 is one of these installments, it's certainly by no means a bad game. So, let's charge our Mega Busters and rock on with the review.
Read more: Mega Man 8 Review

Ultratron Review

Ultratron Review

Party like it's 2084

May 14, 2015 - It's time to go back to the origins of twin stick shooters. From the makers of the Space Invaders inspired Titan Attacks! comes their take on Robotron: 2084. Does it hold up to the classic or is humanity doomed yet again?
Read more: Ultratron Review

Cosmophony Review

Cosmophony Review

A taxing toe-tapping tempest

May 8, 2015 - When it comes to difficult games, it doesn't get much harder than this heart-racing arcade survival indie. It may look simple enough, but before you know it you'll be begging for mercy as you take a break to play something a lot easier... like Bloodborne.
Read more: Cosmophony Review

Shovel Knight Review

Shovel Knight Review

The shovel is mightier than the sword

April 24, 2015 - In an age where countless indie developers strive to create the ultimate retro experience, Shovel Knight clearly stands out of the crowd. With everything fine-tuned and era-appropriate, you'll feel like you're playing a long-lost NES game, but is that really what you want to spend your time doing? Of course it is, so grab a shovel and let's dig in to this modern-day retro masterpiece.
Read more: Shovel Knight Review

Gradius V Review

Gradius V Review

Classic shooting straight to the core

April 14, 2015 - The Vic Viper's latest shoot 'em up thrill-ride has finally arrived on PlayStation 3. While creating it back in the day, Konami opted to hand it over to Treasure instead of developing it in-house, but was that a good idea? Who am I kidding, of course it was!
Read more: Gradius V Review

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

This castle is a creature of Chaos

April 8, 2015 - With countless Metroidvania games being released, it's a good time to revisit the origins of the genre. Symphony of the Night boldly took the Castlevania series in a new direction by incorporating exploration as the main gameplay mechanic in a similar fashion to the already established Metroid series. The result was one of the greatest video games ever crafted. As the 100th review on Video Chums, I invite you to join me in celebrating this brilliant example of gaming perfection in a modern review of a timeless classic.
Read more: Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

Metal Slug 3 Review

Metal Slug 3 Review

General Morden should know not to make alliances with aliens

March 25, 2015 - Metal Slug has been around for almost two decades and for good reason. It still stands tall as one of the best run 'n' gun shooters and with the recent release of the third game on modern consoles, there's no reason not to experience this timeless classic. However, does just one game hold up enough to satisfy modern gamers or should you wait for another Metal Slug Anthology?
Read more: Metal Slug 3 Review

© Video Chums 2014-2017. All rights reserved. Latest article published . Privacy Policy - Video Index