PlayStation 3 Reviews (Page 5)

Namco Museum Vol. 4 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 4 Review

An odd journey into the unknown

June 8, 2015 - Previous collections featured a large variety of classic Namco titles. I guess that means it's time to take a trip to the back corner of Namco's vast library. These games may be obscure, but are they any good? Since I still have some quarters left, let's find out!
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 4 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Digging up some arcade treasures

June 5, 2015 - These Namco compilations keep getting better. However, does the third installment maintain this trend? Seeing as it fills in some missing gaps from Namco's library, let's have a look at what's in this chest full of retro goodness.
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 3 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

A game of cats and mice... and dragons

June 3, 2015 - After a decent debut, the second Namco Museum manages to top its predecessor. Featuring a slightly newer and more unorthodox library, Namco Museum Vol. 2 definitely delivers the goods. What I want to know is; do you have enough quarters left?
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 2 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Eat, shoot, race, repeat

June 1, 2015 - Namco is the king of the arcade. To celebrate their retro catalog, I thought it would be a good idea to spend the next couple weeks reviewing their five Namco Museum compilations for the original PlayStation. Before we begin, I want to mention that I'll be discussing the included games exclusively and not the extra content. If you're ready, grab a roll of quarters and pop one in!
Read more: Namco Museum Vol. 1 Review

Mega Man 8 Review

Mega Man 8 Review

An intriguing turn for our favourite blue robotic hero

May 25, 2015 - When it comes to pleasing nostalgic fans, the Mega Man series has definitely strayed a few times. Although Mega Man 8 is one of these installments, it's certainly by no means a bad game. So, let's charge our Mega Busters and rock on with the review.
Read more: Mega Man 8 Review

Ultratron Review

Ultratron Review

Party like it's 2084

May 14, 2015 - It's time to go back to the origins of twin stick shooters. From the makers of the Space Invaders inspired Titan Attacks! comes their take on Robotron: 2084. Does it hold up to the classic or is humanity doomed yet again?
Read more: Ultratron Review

Cosmophony Review

Cosmophony Review

A taxing toe-tapping tempest

May 8, 2015 - When it comes to difficult games, it doesn't get much harder than this heart-racing arcade survival indie. It may look simple enough, but before you know it you'll be begging for mercy as you take a break to play something a lot easier... like Bloodborne.
Read more: Cosmophony Review

Shovel Knight Review

Shovel Knight Review

The shovel is mightier than the sword

April 24, 2015 - In an age where countless indie developers strive to create the ultimate retro experience, Shovel Knight clearly stands out of the crowd. With everything fine-tuned and era-appropriate, you'll feel like you're playing a long-lost NES game, but is that really what you want to spend your time doing? Of course it is, so grab a shovel and let's dig in to this modern-day retro masterpiece.
Read more: Shovel Knight Review

Gradius V Review

Gradius V Review

Classic shooting straight to the core

April 14, 2015 - The Vic Viper's latest shoot 'em up thrill-ride has finally arrived on PlayStation 3. While creating it back in the day, Konami opted to hand it over to Treasure instead of developing it in-house, but was that a good idea? Who am I kidding, of course it was!
Read more: Gradius V Review

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

This castle is a creature of Chaos

April 8, 2015 - With countless Metroidvania games being released, it's a good time to revisit the origins of the genre. Symphony of the Night boldly took the Castlevania series in a new direction by incorporating exploration as the main gameplay mechanic in a similar fashion to the already established Metroid series. The result was one of the greatest video games ever crafted. As the 100th review on Video Chums, I invite you to join me in celebrating this brilliant example of gaming perfection in a modern review of a timeless classic.
Read more: Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Review

© Video Chums 2014-2017. All rights reserved. Latest article published . Privacy Policy - Video Index